The Blog I’ve Looked Forward to Writing Most

In all of our trip, across all the countries, towns, villages and places we went to, the Mui Ne sand dunes impressed me most. It was the most intense, surreal and exciting experience of our trip.

We took a jeep out of Mui Ne, and drove along roads which overlooked busy beaches and blue skies.

The road became dustier, and less and less tarmacked.

We began to feel as though we were heading somewhere a bit rural..

As midday approached and the temperature rose to 30 celcius, we were happy to get out of the jeep and under the shade of the lush trees and ran along the side of this clear blue lake. At this point we noticed a lot of sand, but no dunes, and were wondering how much further we needed to go.

We kept walking, and came to an ostrich farm where we were given the opportunity to ride ostrich. Kieran and I did not participate, being 6 foot and over we felt it would be a bit cruel. But Thi, one of the girls we went with, decided to have a go and clearly enjoyed it.

We kept walking and started to see signs of the dunes and began to get excited. Kieran pretty much hopped over these makeshift stepping stones to get there.

We turned a corner and just stood there in absolute amazement at the contrast of white sand, blue waters and sky. It was like a desert oasis.

The dunes seemed endless. We didn’t walk too far as it was incredibly hot, and with no shade there was little protection from the harsh sun, but you can go for over 30 miles, according to our local guide Jacob, pictured here with Thi.

Still quite close to the edge of the dunes, the rainfall had collected in this pool the day before, leaving a mirage like scene in front of us.

These hills were steeper than they look. Kieran and I had a race. As I was able to get a picture of him reaching the top, I clearly won 😛

My smug ‘I won’ smile, though really I was just proud to have got up there while feeling so sunburnt.

This day on our trip sticks out in my mind more than most others as my absolute favourite. But you’ll have to read the next blog to see where else we went that made it so good.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About karinerica

Karin is an expat travel blogger from Britain, who works as a Marketing Manager in social media and online advertising. She lives in Toronto, Canada and loves photography, nature, travel and being 6 foot tall. (Her boyfriend Kieran is pretty awesome too.)
This entry was posted in South East Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blog I’ve Looked Forward to Writing Most

  1. This looks like sooo much fun!! There are dunes in the states I spent my childhood summers at and while they’re not so exotic as this looks, they were always a great time.

    • bunnkieran says:

      Hi Kirsten,
      I’d love to go to some of the typically warmer parts of the states and go to the beach and see dunes. I’ve been to Florida, but not sure that counts..

Leave a comment